written, co-written  or edited by Ron Miller

The Space Art Poster Book (Stackpole, 1979)

Space Art (Starlog, 1979)
The Grand Tour (Workman, 1981; revised edition, 1993, revised edition, 2005)
Worlds Beyond: The Art of Chesley Bonestell (Donning, 1983)
Out of the Cradle (Workman, 1984)
Cycles of Fire (Workman, 1987)
Stars and Planets (Doubleday, 1987)
Mathematics (Doubleday, 1989)
In the Stream of Stars (Workman, 1990)
The History of Earth (Workman, 1992)
The Dream Machines (Krieger, 1993)
Extraordinary Voyages (Black Cat Press, 1994)
BrainQuest (Workman, 1994)
Firebrands (Paper Tiger, 1998)
The History of Rockets (Grolier, 1999)
The History of Science Fiction (Grolier, 2001)
The Art of Chesley Bonestell (Paper Tiger, 2001)
Worlds Beyond (eleven-book series, Millbrook Press, 2002-2005)
Special Effects in the Movies (Millbrook Press, 2006)
The Elements (Millbrook Press, 2004)
Pathetic Selections (Black Cat Press, 2005)
Space Innovations (four-book series, Lerner, 2007-2008)
Extreme Aircraft (Hylas/HarperCollins, 2007)
Digital Art (Lerner, 2008)
Cleopatra (Chelsea House, 2007)
Seven Wonders of Engineering (Lerner, 2009)
Seven Wonders of the Rocky Planets (Lerner 2010)
Seven Wonders of the Gas Giants (Lerner 2010)
Seven Wonders of Comets, Meteors & Asteroids (Lerner 2010)
Seven Wonders of Beyond the Solar System (Lerner 2010)
Is the End of the World Near?  (Lerner 2011)
Recentering the Universe (Lerner 2014)
Curiosity' Mission on Mars (Lerner 2014)
Chasing the Storm (Lerner 2014)
The Art of Space (Zenith 2015)
Spaceships (Smithsonian Books 2016)
Aliens (Watkins) 2017
Zoomable Universe (Farrar, Straus & Giroux) 2017
Space  Stations (Smithsonian ) 2018
Natural Satellites (Lerner, 2021)
The Beauty of Space Art (Springer, 2021)
The Big Backyard (Lerner, 2022)

Decalcomania--A Tourist's Handbook and Guide (Black Cat Press, 1987)

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (editor/translator, Unicorn, 1988)
The Bronwyn Trilogy: Palaces & Prisons, Silk & Steel, Hearts & Armor (Ace, 1991-1992)
Bradamant (Timberwolf, 2000, Black Cat Press, 2007)
The Iron Tempest (Baen, 2005)
Palaces & Prisons (Timberwolf Press, 2001, Baen Books, 2005)
Silk & Steel (Timberwolf Press, 2002, Baen, 2005)
Hearts & Armor (Baen Books, 2005)
Mermaids & Meteors (Baen Books, 2005)
Velda (Timberwolf Press, 2003, Black Cat Press, 2007)
13 Steps to Velda (Black Cat Press, 2005)
The Velda Sextette (Black Cat Press, 2022)
Velda Gets Knotty (Black Cat Press, 2020)

Disturbing Stories (Black Cat Press, 2022)
The Space Cadet (Baen Books, 2005)

Return to Skull Mountain (Baen 2015)
The Iron Tempest (Baen 2015)